Bgirl Shorty is My Ninja!

myninja-beat-freaks

One thing I have learned more than anything from blogging Freak The Fashion is that “creative” people are multi-talented.  They don’t just dance or design clothes or do photography… they also sing, play an instrument, deejay, etc.  For example, Lady Jules’ acting abilities match that of her dancing (and that’s saying a lot).

The same goes for creator of My Ninja!, Peter Hong aka Pete Rocks, who is also a music producer, engineer and musician.  According to the website:

Peter has toured, recorded, written, produced and engineered music for Pigeon John, Tatum Jones, Far East Movement, Roscoe Umali, Rootbeer, George Clinton, Talib Kweli, Lupe Fiasco, Dan the Automator, The Pharcyde, Blackalicious, Cut Chemist, RJD2, Miho Hatori, Peeping Tom, Macromantics, and Of Montreal.

He is currently working on the My Ninja! Mixtape that is due Summer of 2009.

In 2008, Peter created the My Ninja! clothing brand as he searched for another artistic outlet other than music.  (Like I said, these creative people don’t stop).  The message behind My Ninja!?

We Love.  We Live.  We Balance.  We Forgive.  Repeat.

My Ninja! will never be a design, nor a shirt, but a statement that allows individuals to connect along the constant cultural blending our generation faces.

And I’m sure you already know that My Ninja! has teamed up with Bgirl Shorty to promote the new line.

Bgirl Shorty represents a new generation of dancers that continue to inspire people across the world. Bgirl Shorty is My Ninja!

More to come in the upcoming weeks from My Ninja! and Bgirl Shorty…

Until then, read more about the interview with Pete Rocks, including the path of his successful music career, how the name “My Ninja!” came about, support for The Beat Freaks, and his favorite movies.  You can find more pics of The Beat Freaks in My Ninja! gear at Shinobi Studios.

Beat Freaks with My Ninja!'s Peter Hong

Beat Freaks with My Ninja!'s Peter Hong

You can follow @MyNinjaClothing on Twitter.

Comments
5 Responses to “Bgirl Shorty is My Ninja!”
  1. nothinleft06 says:

    nice piece…very nice piece!

  2. garrick says:

    thanks for the linkage! it’s always a pleasure to work with the Beat Freaks and the My Ninja! crew. we currently have you guys up on our featured section of our site (http://www.shinobi-studios.com) if you haven’t seen it already. lookin forward to working with you all in the future again

  3. garrick says:

    oops. subscribed to the comments feed with an incorrect email on accident

  4. JJ says:

    Keep the fashion info coming. Love looking at all the new picks! Can’t wait to get some myself.

  5. Peter Rocks says:

    YO!!! I agree with Garrick. Thanks again for doing this!!!

Leave a Reply

